ALEX G STREAMS NEW TRACK ‘SALT’

(Sandy) Alex G | 09/09/15

Image: Alex G Jeff Allen Press Shot

Alex G is pleased to share a second song from his forthcoming album Beach Music – the sweetly melancholic ‘Salt’. ‘Salt’ follows on from first single ‘Bug’, an “introverted pop gem” (Stereogum) with a video directed by Micah Van Hove.  Listen to ‘Salt’ below.

 

Alex G’s forthcoming new album Beach Music will be out via Domino on October 9, 2015. The album, his seventh full-length, follows on from previous beloved albums DSU (Orchid Tapes / Lucky Number Music), Trick, and Rules, which have led to a fervent cult fan base, a number of Artist To Watch designations from outlets such as Fader and Rolling Stone, and a dedicated live audience who sing along with every word.

Beach Music is available to pre-order now via the Dom Mart on limited edition deluxe vinyl LP, standard LP, CD, and digital download. Cassette offerings have already sold out, but an alternative color run of cassettes has been announced as part of this year’s International Cassette Store Day, taking place on October 17.  Find a list of participating CSD retailers here and call to check availability.

Pre-order: Dom Mart / Bandcamp / iTunes

Beach Music was written and recorded in Giannascoli’s apartment, between the Fall of 2014 and the Spring of 2015, during breaks from touring with the likes of Elvis Depressedly, Cymbals Eat Guitars, and Gardens & Villa. While its predecessors often came in uninterrupted bursts—from his head to his Bandcamp page in a matter of hours and days—Beach Music was shaped in part by Giannascoli adapting to life as a touring musician. Songs were written within months of one another rather than all at once, with influences ranging from noise music to piano-based laments to Southern rock to the rhythmic focus of techno—whatever he happened to be most interested in at the time. “Every song is coming from a different place,” he says. “It branches off in all these directions, but it has its own sound. It’s not something I do intentionally, but I’m the common thread.”

Beach Music track listing

01. Intro

02. Bug

03. Thorns

04. Kicker

05. Salt

06. Look Out

07. Brite Boy

08. In Love

09. Walk

10. Mud

11. Ready

12. Station

13. Snot

ALEX G TOUR DATES – UK and European dates in bold

Thurs Oct 8  || Brooklyn, NY || Baby’s All Right - album release show

Tues Oct 13 || Berlin, Germany || Berghain, Kantine || TIX

Wed Oct 14 || Haldern, Germany || Haldern Pop Bar || FREE ENTRY

Thurs Oct 15 || Paris, France || Le Pop Up du Label || TIX

Fri Oct 16 || Rotterdam, Netherlands || V11 || TIX

Sat Oct 17 || Brussels, Belgium || Botanique Witloofbar || TIX

Mon Oct 19 || Manchester, UK || Night & Day || TIX

Tues Oct 20 || London, UK || 100 Club || TIX

Thurs Oct 22 || Columbus, OH || Strongwater # || TIX

Fri Oct 23 || Buffalo, NY || Waiting Room # || TIX

Sat Oct 24 || Toronto, ON || Not Dead Yet Fest || TIX

Sun Oct 25  || Grand Rapids, MI || The Pyramid Scheme # || TIX

Mon Oct 26 || DeKalb, IL || The House Café # || TIX

Tues Oct 27 || Minneapolis, MN || Triple Rock Social Club # || TIX

Wed Oct 28  || Bloomington, IN || The Bishop || TIX

Thurs Oct 29 || Nashville, TN || The End # || TIX

Fri Oct 30 || Memphis, TN || Hi Tone Cafe $ || TIX

Sun Nov 1 || St. Louis, MO || The Firebird $ || TIX

Mon Nov 2 || Kansas City, MO || The Record Bar $ || TIX

Tues Nov 3 || Springfield, MO || Outland Ballroom # || TIX

Wed Nov 4 || Oklahoma City, OK || 89th Street Collective # || TIX

Thurs Nov 5 || Dallas, TX || The Door # || TIX

Sat Nov 7 || San Antonio, TX || The Paper Tiger & || TIX

Mon Nov 9 || Houston TX || Fitzgerald’s & || TIX

Wed Nov 11 || Atlanta, GA || Purgatory - The Masquerade &^ || TIX

Thurs Nov 12 || Durham, NC || Duke Coffeehouse &^ || TIX

Fri Nov 13 || Baltimore, MD || Ottobar &^ || TIX

Sat Nov 14 || Philadelphia, PA @ The First Unitarian Church &^ || TIX

! w/ Dr. Dog

# w/ Title Fight

$ w/ Spencer Radcliffe

& w/ Girlpool

^ Eskimeaux